Shakugan no Shana Watch Order

Shakugan no Shana, mean “Burning-Eyed Shana”, also known simply as Shana, is a light novel series written by Yashichiro Takahashi with illustrations by Noizi Ito.

The story focuses on Yuji Sakai, a high school boy who inadvertently becomes involved in an age-old conflict between forces of balance and imbalance in existence. In the process, he befriends a fighter for the balancing force and names her “Shana”.

The series incorporates fantasy and slice of life elements into its tale.

Between 2005 and 2012, Shakugan no Shana was adapted by J.C. Staff into three 24-episode anime television series, a four-episode original video animation (OVA) series, an animated film and an additional stand alone OVA episode.

1. Shakugan no Shana (2005)

Shakugan no Shana (2005)
AiredFall 2005

Rating: 4 out of 5.

He had thought his normal days would last forever, until they were ended abruptly by an encounter with a girl with red hair and eyes. He named her Shana.

Not long after he enters high school, Sakai Yuji’s normal days come to an end. He sees something bizarre on his way home: people are frozen in a strange fire, and a monster that looks like a large doll is attacking them.

Just when he’s about to be killed, a girl in a dark cloak wielding a large sword appears, and slices the monster in half. Although Yuji survives the strange encounter, the girl informs him of a desolate truth: ” ‘You’ don’t exist anymore.”

She calls herself a Flame Haze who hunts “Guze no Tomogara”; intruders from another world. She explains to him that he is a “Torch”, a substitute of Yuji whose “existence” has already been devoured. She also told him that he is a special Torch, “Mystes”, which contains a precious item in it. When he looks at his chest, he sees within himself a faint flame, just as she said.

It is in this way that his eternal struggle alongside the girl begins.

2. Shakugan no Shana: The Movie (2007)

Shakugan no Shana: The Movie (2007)
Episodes1 Film
AiredFall 2007

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The movie is not a sequel to the anime, but is an adaptation of all the events in the first novel and contains events that were not in the anime series.

3. Shakugan no Shana: Season II (2007)

Shakugan no Shana: Season II (2007)
AiredFall 2007

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The heated bond between Shana and Yuji is tested as their paranormal adventures continues. The Flame Haze fends off supernatural foes by night.

By day, she contends with a classmate who’s also after Yuji’s heart. Emotions flare as a suspicious transfer student who resembles a recently defeated Denizen clings to Yuji.

His training rises in intensity when they catch wind of a revered warrior in search of her lost lover—who will stop at nothing to extract the power keeping Yuji alive!

4. Shakugan no Shana: Season III (2011)

Shakugan no Shana: Season III (2011)
AiredFall 2011

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Continuing from the events of previous Shakugan no Shana II, both Shana and Kazumi stand at their respective locations waiting for Yuji to meet with one of them, only to discover that Yuji has disappeared, with not even the slightest evidence of his existence left behind.

All is not lost however, as the letters the two of them sent to him still give hope of Yuji’s continued existence. As Shana and company search for answers on Yuji’s whereabouts, they soon find the truth staring back at them when Yuji reappears in front of them as the leader of Bal Masqué.

Left with little choice, Shana must now confront her most unlikely adversary on the battlefield in her toughest challenge yet.

Share your love
Arif Abdurahman
Arif Abdurahman

Blogging since 2009, a cold-blooded otaku who love mecha and mahou shoujo. Sharing his opinions and shit posting on pop culture is his true passion, like explaining the watch order of Gundam, Fate series or Monogatari anime by heart.

Articles: 135

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *