Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha Watch Order

Before Madoka Magica, there are Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha that is another magical girl anime series directed by Akiyuki Shinbo. The screenplay written by Masaki Tsuzuki and produced by Seven Arcs. It forms part of the Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha series.

The series is a spin-off of the Triangle Heart series and its story follows a girl named Nanoha Takamachi who decides to help a young mage named Yūno to recover a set of 21 artifacts named the “Jewel Seeds”.

1. Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha (2004)

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha (2004)
TitleMahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha
AiredFall 2004

Rating: 4 out of 5.

3rd grader Takamachi Nanoha stumbled upon an injured talking ferret after hearing his telepathic cries for help. The ferret turned out to be Yuuno, an archeologist and mage from another world who had accidentally scattered the dangerous Jewel Seeds throughout Earth.

Without the strength to collect the Jewel Seeds, Yuuno had resumed a ferret form and needed someone else to take on the task for him. He gave a red jewel to Nanoha explaining to her with this she could transform and use magic to combat the monsters that threatened them due to the Jewel Seeds.

But the monsters are the least of their worries, as Yuuno and Nanoha are not the only ones out to collect the Jewel Seeds.

2. Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha A’s (2005)

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha A's (2005)
TitleMahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A’s
AiredFall 2005

Rating: 4 out of 5.

After the events of the Lost Logia case, Nanoha waits patiently for the day she can reunite with her newfound friend, Fate. Although being an exceptionally powerful mage, Nanoha spends her days normally with her friends on Earth.

But peace is once again suddenly shattered, as Nanoha is without warning attacked by a powerful mage. A group of violent mages have been attacking anything with magic power for their own goals.

Nanoha and Fate, along with their friends Yuuno, Arf, Chrono and the Space/Time Administration Bureau must once more band together to stop these renegade mages from hurting anyone or anything else. Takes place after the first season of Lyrical Nanoha.

3. Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha StrikerS (2007)

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha StrikerS (2007)
TitleMahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha StrikerS
AiredSpring 2007

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Set 10 years after Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha A’s, Nanoha, Fate, Hayate and the rest of the crew are now working full time in the Time-Space Administration Bureau.

Nanoha is a combat instructor, Fate is a special investigator, and Hayate is a commanding officer. They must unite once again to save the dimensions.

Introducing new characters as well: Subaru, Teana, Caro and Erio. Stand by. Ready. Set up!

4. Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha: The Movie 1st (2010)

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha: The Movie 1st (2010)
TitleMahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha: The MOVIE 1st
AiredWinter 2010

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The movie is based on the first season’s story but features new battle animations and a new transformation sequence.

5. Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha: The Movie 2nd A’s (2012)

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha: The Movie 2nd A's (2012)
TitleMahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha: The MOVIE 2nd A’s
AiredSummer 2012

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Sequel of Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha The Movie 1st.

6. Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha ViVid (2015)

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha ViVid (2015)
TitleMahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha ViVid
AiredSpring 2015

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The manga takes place four years after the JS incident in Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha StrikerS, and stars Vivio Takamichi, a fourth-year elementary student at St. Hilde Academy of Magic.

Vivio has learned to conjure her adult form and has received her own Device — named Sacred Heart — from Nanoha, and has promised Nanoha to never use either for mischief. Then a mysterious magical fighter appears and targets Vivio.

7. Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha: Reflection (2017)

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha: Reflection (2017)
TitleMahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha: Reflection
AiredFall 2017

Rating: 4 out of 5.

A pair of researchers remain on their dying planet of Eltria with their two daughters, Amitie and Kirie, in hopes of finding a way to revive the planet, but it was no use.

Against her older sister’s wishes, Kirie sets off with her childhood friend Iris to seek help from a distant alternate world. They arrive in Japan on Earth to search for the key to their planet’s regeneration.

8. Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha Detonation (2018)

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha Detonation (2018)
TitleMahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha Detonation
AiredFall 2018

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The film will delve into the history between Iris and Yuri, and the tragedy of Eltoria’s “Planet Reclamation Committee.”

Share your love
Arif Abdurahman
Arif Abdurahman

Blogging since 2009, a cold-blooded otaku who love mecha and mahou shoujo. Sharing his opinions and shit posting on pop culture is his true passion, like explaining the watch order of Gundam, Fate series or Monogatari anime by heart.

Articles: 135

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *