xxxHOLiC Watch Order

Funny, creepy, dark, interesting and clever. Those would be the words that could describe xxxHOLiC.

Prepare to be taken on a tour de force through the world of the supernatural. The story behind xxxHOLiC is intriguing and interesting, revolving around spirits, ghosts, and the very strange.

As a seinen, this series geared towards an older and more sophisticated audience, there’s little action, but loads of thought-provoking and amazingly insightful dialogue. Gets your mind pumping about topics such as fate, destiny, and one’s purpose in life.

xxxHOLiC offers an insight into a part of Japanese culture that most people rarely see.

xxxHolic is an anime that doesn’t have an underlying plot so much as a series of loosely connected episodes that are all based off of Japanese folk lore. A young man can see spirits. He finds a shop that grants wishes and ends up working there part time. Shenanigans ensue. Most of the episodes have only very loose connections to each other.

So here are the xxxHOLiC watch order:

1. xxxHOLiC (2006)

xxxHOLiC (2006)
  • Episode: 24
  • Aired: Spring 2006

Watanuki Kimihiro can see spirits and other assorted supernatural creatures, which is quite a bothersome ability he strongly dislikes. On the way home one day, while plagued by some spirits, he is inexplicably compelled to enter a strange house.

There, he encounters Yuuko, a mysterious woman who claims to be able to rid him of the ability to see and attract the troublesome creatures – for a price.

She demands for him to work at her “store” that grants wishes to people, and thus begins Watanuki’s adventures through weird and wonderful events.

2. xxxHOLiC – A Midsummer Night’s Dream (2005)

xxxHOLiC - A Midsummer Night's Dream (2005)
  • Episode: 1 Film
  • Aired: Summer 2005

Yuuko receives a letter from an unknown sender. It is an invitation to an auction. Seven avid collectors were invited to an old mansion. They all admit that they accepted the invitation to complete their collections.

They waited for the host, but he does not make an appearance. And one by one the collectors disappear. The strange host and a mysterious girl. A night where odd things happen one after another. What is being auctioned? Who is the host?

The cunning and foolish people who are obsessed with “possessions” and the host’s “timeless” passion. What is waiting at the end of this enigmatic series of riddles? And what is the conclusion of the sad love story behind them? Mystery leads to mystery, and reaches the unexpected!

3. xxxHOLiC Kei (2008)

xxxHOLiC Kei (2008)
  • Episodes: 13
  • Aired: Spring 2008

Still working to get his wish complete, Watanuki finds himself into more mess than he can handle when certain facts about his everyday life gets revealed and when he needs to learn the lesson of Yuuko the hard way.

4. xxxHOLiC Shunmuki (2009)

xxxHOLiC Shunmuki (2009)
  • Episodes: 2
  • Aired: Winter 2009

Tsubasa/xxxHOLiC project.

A 4 part OVA consisting of two OVAs for each series, with plots linked together. Direct sequel to the events on xxxHOLiC – Kei, with special guests.

5. xxxHOLiC Rou (2010)

xxxHOLiC Rou (2010)
  • Episodes: 2
  • Aired: Spring 2010

10 years after the events of xxxHOLiC Shunmuki, a melancholic Kimihiro Watanuki has taken over the shop formerly run by the mysterious Yuuko due to a promise he made to her.

His companions Maru, Moro, and Mokona live together with him in relative contentment, and some familiar faces arrive every now and then: former rival turned-steadfast friend Shizuka Doumeki, and the former psychic prodigy Kohane Tsuyuri. While Kohane studies folklore under Doumeki at university, they encounter a case that is perfect for the master of the shop.

Eventually, Watanuki receives a visit from Doumeki’s grandfather, Haruka. He requests that Watanuki investigates his grandson’s dreams. While inside the dream world, he discovers how their past adventures played out from Doumeki’s perspective of view, leading Watanuki to discover truths from 10 years ago and secrets about the ties that bind their friendship.

Share your love
Arif Abdurahman
Arif Abdurahman

Blogging since 2009, a cold-blooded otaku who love mecha and mahou shoujo. Sharing his opinions and shit posting on pop culture is his true passion, like explaining the watch order of Gundam, Fate series or Monogatari anime by heart.

Articles: 135

Leave a Reply