Monogatari Watch Order

Monogatari is a rollercoaster of emotions, laughter, and some major “what just happened?” moments. The characters will charm you with their quirks and keep you on your toes. Get ready to embrace the weirdness and embark on an epic adventure!

Monogatari is known for its experimental visuals, hilarious dialogues, and unforgettable characters that have been captivating anime fans for over a decade.

But here’s the deal: Monogatari‘s got a looong and twisty plot that can leave you scratching your head. It’s like trying to follow a magic trick without knowing the secrets! Don’t worry, though, as a die-hard fan, I’ve got you covered with a handy guide.

Okay, listen up! Monogatari has this crazy long chronological timeline, which is why there’s so much confusion about how to watch it.

Monogatari Release Order

monogatari series anime

Alright, folks, if you’re diving into the Monogatari series for the first time, here’s the most recommended order to follow. And trust me, it makes the most sense – just like the way it was released!

This is how SHAFT, the creators, intended it to be, and honestly, it’s probably the best way to experience it. The main difference here is that Kizumonogatari, the origin story, is held off and shown later as a grand finale.

Some might feel that this order leaves a bunch of unanswered questions for first-timers, but don’t fret! The other seasons and episodes will fill in the gaps and keep you hooked to the storyline.

So, get ready to savor the Monogatari journey in all its glory with this order. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the fantastical world of Monogatari as it unfolds before your eyes. Happy watching!

1. Bakemonogatari (2009)

bakemonogatari monogatari series anime

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Story ArcMayoi Snail
Hitagi Crab
Nadeko Snake
Suruga Money
Tsubasa Cat.
AiredSummer 2009

2. Nisemonogatari (2012)

nisemonogatari series anime

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Story ArcTsukihi Phoenix
Karen Bee
AiredWinter 2012

3. Nekomonogatari Kuro (2012)

monogatari series anime

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Story ArcTsubasa Family
AiredWinter 2012

4. Monogatari 2nd Season (2013)

monogatari 2nd season series anime

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.
Story ArcMayoi Jiangshi
Shinobu Time
Tsubasa Tiger
Hitagi End
AiredSummer 2013

5. Hanamonogatari (2014)

monogatari series anime

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Story ArcSuruga Devil
AiredSummer 2014

6. Tsukimonogatari (2014)

monogatari series anime

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Story ArcYotsugi Doll
AiredFall 2014

7. Owarimonogatari (2015)

owarimonogatari series anime

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Story ArcOugi Formula
Sodachi Lost
Sodachi Riddle
Shinobu Mail Stories
AiredFall 2015

8. Koyomimonogatari (2016)

koyomimonogatari series anime

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Story ArcKoyomi’s short story
AiredWinter 2016

9. Kizumonogatari Part 1: Tekketsu-hen (2016)

kizumonogatari series anime

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.
AiredWinter 2016

10. Kizumonogatari Part 2: Nekketsu-hen (2017)

monogatari series anime

Rating: 4 out of 5.
AiredSummer 2016

11. Kizumonogatari Part 3: Reiketsu-hen (2017)

kizumonogatari series anime

Rating: 4 out of 5.
AiredWinter 2017

12. Owarimonogatari Second Season (2017)

owarimonogatari series anime second season

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Story ArcHitagi Rendezvous
Ougi Dark
AiredWinter 2016

13. Zoku Owarimonogatari (2018)

zoku owarimonogatari series anime

Rating: 4 out of 5.
Story ArcKoyomi Reverse
AiredWinter 2019

Monogatari Chronological Order

Lots of peeps out there love to rewatch Monogatari or dive into it after reading the novels. And guess what? They swear by watching it in good ol’ chronological order!

With so many stories and characters in the Monogatari universe, there’s a ton to unpack, and you’ll always find something new each time you rewatch it. It’s like uncovering hidden treasures in a video game – so much fun!

Now, this chronological order is more of a treat for the advanced fans, the ones who can handle missing info and enjoy the suspense of unrevealed secrets. If you’re a seasoned Monogatari buff, this order will be right up your alley!

  1. Wazamonogatari
  2. Kizumonogatari
  3. Nekomonogatari (Black)
  4. Bakemonogatari
  5. Nisemonogatari
  6. Kabukimonogatari
  7. Onimonogatari
  8. Owarimonogatari Vol. 2
  9. Nekomonogatari (White)
  10. Owarimonogatari Vol. 1
  11. Wazamonogatari
  12. Orokamonogatari
  13. Otorimonogatari
  14. Koimonogatari
  15. Tsukimonogatari
  16. Owarminogatari Vol. 3
  17. Zoku Owarimonogatari
  18. Hanamonogatari
  19. Shinobumonogatari
  20. Wazamonogatari
  21. Orokamonogatari (Suruga Bonehead)
  22. Orokamonogatari (Tsukihi Undo)
  23. Nademonogatari
  24. Musubimonogatari

So, grab your popcorn, fasten your seatbelts, and let’s unravel the mysteries of Monogatari together. With this guide in hand, you’ll become an expert in no time.

Spread the word and let’s share the joy of this mind-bending anime with the world! Happy watching, everyone!

Share your love
Arif Abdurahman
Arif Abdurahman

Blogging since 2009, a cold-blooded otaku from South East Asia who love mecha and mahou shoujo. Sharing his opinions and shit posting on pop culture is his true passion, like explaining the watch order of Gundam, Fate series or Monogatari anime by heart.

Articles: 108

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *